The Boardwalk

Novel Announcement and Sample

December 05, 2023 The Boardwalk
Novel Announcement and Sample
The Boardwalk
More Info
The Boardwalk
Novel Announcement and Sample
Dec 05, 2023
The Boardwalk

This is Kyle and my novel "Bottled in Bagram" will be released January 2, 2024. Pre-orders are up now for the digital version with paperback to follow:

Pre-Order Here

Read Chapter One on my Substack!

David Ryan is an intelligence analyst working on board a small reconnaissance aircraft in the final years of the Afghan War. On a routine approach into Bagram, his aircraft is attacked and the camera operator, Sam Stokes, is wounded. While the crew works to conceal their whiskey smuggling operation, the commander vows revenge, and the full might of US aviation and intelligence is unleashed to find the shooter.

Bottled in Bagram follows the aviators of Task Force Daytona as they fight their own individual conflicts amid the failing Afghan War. Officers want promotions, the enlisted want to perpetuate their alcoholism, and others are trying to sell their used panties on the internet. Intelligence analysts who predict Afghanistan’s imminent collapse are ignored to not rock the rudderless boat of military bureaucracy. 

David and his comrades must deal with boredom, devastating violence, mental illness, and filling sandbags in this dark satire of the Global War on Terror. Fans of Joseph Heller’s Catch 22 and W.C. Heinz’s MASH may enjoy this take on a modern war. 

Show Notes

This is Kyle and my novel "Bottled in Bagram" will be released January 2, 2024. Pre-orders are up now for the digital version with paperback to follow:

Pre-Order Here

Read Chapter One on my Substack!

David Ryan is an intelligence analyst working on board a small reconnaissance aircraft in the final years of the Afghan War. On a routine approach into Bagram, his aircraft is attacked and the camera operator, Sam Stokes, is wounded. While the crew works to conceal their whiskey smuggling operation, the commander vows revenge, and the full might of US aviation and intelligence is unleashed to find the shooter.

Bottled in Bagram follows the aviators of Task Force Daytona as they fight their own individual conflicts amid the failing Afghan War. Officers want promotions, the enlisted want to perpetuate their alcoholism, and others are trying to sell their used panties on the internet. Intelligence analysts who predict Afghanistan’s imminent collapse are ignored to not rock the rudderless boat of military bureaucracy. 

David and his comrades must deal with boredom, devastating violence, mental illness, and filling sandbags in this dark satire of the Global War on Terror. Fans of Joseph Heller’s Catch 22 and W.C. Heinz’s MASH may enjoy this take on a modern war.